Tom's Runs Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/ Fri, 24 May 2019 17:21:29 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sun, Apr 28, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-28-2019.html <p>OFF - adductor still hurting a bit</p> Sun, 28 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 27, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-27-2019.html <p>AM : 2 mile</p> <p>PM : 2 mile warm up, 1500m race, 2 mile cool down</p> <p>Race didn&#39;t go terrible, but wasn&#39;t what I wanted. I wanted to run a 3:52, however the weather started to get stacked against me (85 degrees + 15 mph wind), but I didn&#39;t want to give up. My teammate took me through at 2:06 in 800 and I solo&#39;ed the rest and ran 3:58. I won the race.</p> Sat, 27 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 26, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-26-2019.html <p>AM : 5 miles, pre race day</p> Fri, 26 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 25, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-25-2019.html <p>AM : 5 miles, really need the adductor to heal</p> Thu, 25 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 24, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-24-2019.html <p>AM : 8 miles</p> Wed, 24 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 23, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-23-2019.html <p>AM : 2 mile warmup, 2 mile grass threshold, and some 600s on the track. 2 mile cool down</p> Tue, 23 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 22, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-22-2019.html <p>AM : 8 miles</p> Mon, 22 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Apr 21, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-21-2019.html <p>OFF - adductor pain</p> Sun, 21 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 20, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-20-2019.html <p>AM : 2 mile warm up, 4 mile tempo + 4x30s hill reps + 4x15s strides. 2 mile cool down. Felt really strong, but took the strides easy adductor still bothering me a bit.</p> Sat, 20 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 19, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-19-2019.html <p>AM : 8 miles again with the guys before they leave for LSU.</p> Fri, 19 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 18, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-18-2019.html <p>AM : 8 miles, nice and easy</p> Thu, 18 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 17, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-17-2019.html <p>AM : 2 mile warm up, then broken down 1500m. 1k, 400m (100 slow, 300 fast) then fast 100. 2 mile cool down. Felt very strong and fast through the workout, might have used the adductor a little too much though.</p> Wed, 17 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 16, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-16-2019.html <p>AM : 8miles (6:51) nice just like yesterday</p> Tue, 16 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 15, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-15-2019.html <p>AM : 12 miles (6:44) absolutely beautiful long run out at misty. A good 55 degrees, clear skies, and sunrise. Ran with coach (basically dropped him)</p> Mon, 15 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Apr 14, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-14-2019.html <p>OFF</p> Sun, 14 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 13, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-13-2019.html <p>AM : 2 miles, nice and easy shake out for the race tonight. It had just rained so it was a little humid, but a solid little run.&nbsp;</p> <p>PM : THE RACE 2 mile warm up, drills strides etc. etc. This was my second 5k of the season and I was really hoping to better my previous time (14:55), but that all went out the window when we arrived at the meet. It was the windiest track meet I&#39;ve ever attended in my life. It was about 60 degrees, 25 mph winds and about 9pm at race time. Knowing that the race was incredibly windy I just changed my focus to going for the win. My coach wanted me&nbsp;to draft behind the leaders and just respond to every move. The main focus of this race was to have a strong last mile. The gun went off and everyone immediatly fell in behind one another and the race strung out. We were running roughly 75s through 4 laps and then the leader picked up to 69.high for the rest of the race. I followed the plan and just stayed on his hip. It wasn&#39;t bad through 8 laps, but those last 4 started to hurt. I knew my goal here was to make that last mile hurt. I stayed on him and with a lap to go and the pace picked up.&nbsp;I started to fall off a bit, but got my bearings and stayed up there. With 80m to go I rolled on to my toes and won with a 14:58. While the time wasn&#39;t a PR or season best, I accomplished my goal and made the last mile hurt and my fastest. Overall I&#39;m very happy with the race and excited to see where things go. 2 mile cool down.</p> Sat, 13 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 12, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-12-2019.html <p>PM : 5 miles (7:30) pre meet day, ran an easy 5 in wild heat and humidity, might have gotten sun burned during it. Ran 4x150m strides on the track after averaging right around 4 minute pace just to keep it all easy (racing the 5k at A&amp;M the next day)</p> Fri, 12 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 11, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-11-2019.html <p>AM : 6 miles (7:10) I went with the aerobounces today, felt different than the hokas but still solid run.</p> Thu, 11 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 10, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-10-2019.html <p>AM : 8 miles (7:05) super easy fun run</p> Wed, 10 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 09, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-09-2019.html <p>AM : 2 mile warm up then 2 mile threshold on grassy 400m loop, 3x800 at CV on the track and then 4x200 to finish it off. 2 mile cool down. I always love this workout, I feel like I get a taste for everything, but I always feel good coming off it. Switching from grass to the track makes you feel like your floating on the track.</p> Tue, 09 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 08, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-08-2019.html <p>AM : 8.2 miles + 4 hill strides&nbsp;(7:10) went over some rough terrain and took a wrong turn on a thin road.</p> Mon, 08 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Apr 07, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-07-2019.html <p>OFF</p> Sun, 07 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 06, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-06-2019.html <p>AM : 12 miles (7:04) most relaxed long run ever. Also first time going 85 minutes without stopping to flip or get water. woohoo.</p> Sat, 06 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 05, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-05-2019.html <p>PM : 6x1000 with 4x300 after. Interesting workout, it was 85 degrees, sunny, and humid. Our paces were adjusted as such, but still ran fast. Overall good workout</p> Fri, 05 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 04, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-04-2019.html <p>AM : 7 miles (7:00) pretty humid out, but good run.</p> Thu, 04 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 03, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-03-2019.html <p>AM : 9 miles (6:27) felt really good, beautiful ~57 degrees at misty.</p> Wed, 03 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 02, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-02-2019.html <p>AM : 2 mile warmup, 12x1 min hills on the trail, 2 mile cooldown. Felt easy, Cade pushed last two, tried to keep up but footspeed wasn&#39;t there.</p> Tue, 02 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 01, 2019 http://tomdom.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-01-2019.html <p>AM : 8 miles (7:10) with the boys</p> <p>PM : 4 miles (7:07)&nbsp;with travian around the neighborhoods behind sayers</p> Mon, 01 Apr 2019 06:00:00